Skip to content

IKEA pants

June 27, 2008

Being Swedish but living outside of Sweden makes you automaticly become a fan of IKEA. Going to IKEA is like going home to Sweden. So you do this on a regular basis although you know all products by their names – I´m not joking!

A visit to their fabric department is of course obligatory. They have this corner with spare leftover fabrics, which always attracts me. I have the feeling I miss out something if I don´t have a look. Like with ebay – you don´t need it but if you don´t get it, someone else will! I picked up a piece of green-orange fabric, but put it back again. My “D-darling” asked me why I put it back: make “little sweety” pants, they would look great! I looked distrustfully but bought the piece, as I know my “D-darling” is always right. And he was, here is the result.

Material: heavy cotton fabric, feels almost like denim, from IKEA. White rib knit fromStoff Hemmers

Design/Pattern: own

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 3, 2008 10:44 pm

    And. Living in Sweden with walking distance to IKEA means that you are there at least 2 times a month. If not to buy anything so to let the children play in “Småland” and let mummy have a Caffe Latte and a cake in the restaurant…

    However. Since I know the entire catalogue by heart I find it hard to make cloths from their fabrics. And, that is coming from someone who LOVES to make clothes from curtains, drapes and bed linen…

    //Kaja

  2. ikketikketheo permalink*
    July 4, 2008 2:53 pm

    I recognise the feeling that it feels strange using their fabrics for clothing…. :)
    A virtual rose for the first comment goes to beautiful Smaland :)

Leave a Reply

