Skip to content

Corduroy Overall

August 15, 2008

Inspired by all different kind of designers worldwide who work with vintage fabric I had this overall in mind for the last 2 months. But is it ok to sew autumn-outfits in June? No!!! But in August it´s ok :)

I first had to find the kind of overall sets I wanted. As you can see here on the left hand picture I found them :)

Well, my mother-in-law did. First of all it´s quite difficult to get any style – is none sewing classic overalls anymore?

She bought these in Heviz/Hungary where she (as qualified tailoress) uses to buy her haberdashery when she visits her vacation home near Balaton every second week. It´s of course quite cheap there as well. She said she paid 1 Euro for the stuff pictured.

I asked her if I should punch a hole before I fit in the button – Noooo, that´s not needed, she answered.

As you can see on the right hand picture I should have not listened to her :(

For the other button I then punched a hole :)

When I started sewing the overall I was only sure about using the vintage fabric for upper lining. Finally I then also lined the bottom part of the legs.

I used brown corduroy from Stoffe Hemmers, the vintage fabric I bought at ebay.

Pattern is from “Kinderkleider nähen 1-4” (Gynther, Solberg), but I had to reduce width by several cm.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2008 1:38 pm

    Jättefina byxor! Snygg modell och fina färger.

  2. September 3, 2008 9:02 pm

    jättefina byxor!! ser ut som några min mamma sydde åt oss som små.

Leave a Reply

