Skip to content

Advent-Wreath-Making

December 3, 2008

Every culture has his advent customs. Where I live the catholic custom is a wreath with 4 candles for advent.

dsc02721

I always bind some more wreaths for wall, window or door decoration.

dsc02777

There are different ways of binding a wreath. I have found two well pictured (German) guides for you. Here you bind the wire together with the fir branches around the straw wreath and here you first bind wire around your complete straw wreath and then stick the branches into the wire/straw body.

I do a combination of both. I bind the wreath like in the pictures of link 1 and then I add single branches where needed to get a even nice looking result.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2008 12:47 am

    What a nice and simple advent wreath, exactly how I like it!

    I’m just surprised to read it as a catholic custom, because it is originally a protestant “invention”. Interesting, how customs develop…

  2. Sara permalink*
    December 4, 2008 9:37 am

    You are right Marion, originally it´s a german-protestant custom!
    Coming from a protestant counrty not knowing this tradition to a catholic country with this tradition I was so sure it´s catholic ;) But there you go…so thanks for the input :)

Leave a Reply

