Skip to content

A First Evolve Cover Fight

February 9, 2009

To challenge a Babylock I used the most difficult fabric I had. A very stretchy, thin ribbed jersey. Yummy!! Overlocking was superb, but the cover stitches….hm. What did I expect? To be able to sew even nice looking cover hems the first time I´m covering?? With a machine I don´t know? Maybe I asked for too much.

My intention was to sew underwear for Little Sweety, Long Johns and undershirt, out of the ribbed fabric. I was so concentrated on the new machine that I constantly added the wrong parts….. Which resulted in that the shirt is not usable as I had to cut apart the not fitting parts several times and now neckline is too big. But the tights are ok.

dsc04423

dsc04425

So far I can´t say very much about the Babylock. The jet-air-threading is a great invention, although this needs practice as well. I´m sure in some weeks I will do it quicker. Also the conversion from Over- to Cover and back I need to pratice. As the machine has 8 cone-holders you necessarily don´t have to re-thread the whole way for this, but you have to set/remove the needles – which means you have to re-thread at least half way. The other 3 or four hand grips you have to do for conversion are not worth mentioning in my point of view. A certain con of the machine is the very small gap under the pressure-foot. You cannot lift the pressure-foot very high to place fabric under. I´m sure I will damn this fact many times in future.

These are the stitches I have tried soo far….

dsc04441

dsc04444

dsc04445

And this is how it then looked live….hrm

dsc04450

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sofia permalink
    February 11, 2009 9:00 am

    Wow that is really advanced sewing, glad you enjoy your new machine. xoxo, S

  2. mytoothfairypillow permalink
    February 15, 2009 6:58 am

    Keep that instruction card handy! I have had my Evolve for about 5 years and have to refer to that card every time because I don’t use it often enough. It is also a good idea to keep a notebook with samples of fabrics/stitches and notes.

Leave a Reply

