Skip to content

Taking my energy

February 3, 2010

I feel I need a short blogging break. But I´m sure it won´t be for very long.

But before I shortly want to let you know what´s keeping me busy at the moment.

I wrote a couple of months ago that I´m going through the process of getting an electric wheelchair. The wheelchair has still not been approved so it will take further weeks or months more and my patience is about to run out.


We also need a bigger car for proper transportation. As we just want and can afford one car we have to find a compromise. This subject is very compact and too detailed to explain here. It took hours to find out what cars could be converted and rebuilt in what way for certain wheelchairs. In summary we´ve decided for a VW Multivan and a second wheelchair I pay myself which will fit the car.


I´ve also wrote about that I was looking for a personal assistant to help me with my daily routins. This has been approved for my working hours and I have employed my – in the meantime beloved Babsi – who helps me the time I´m working. I´m still waiting for aproval for assistance for the other 143 hours a week.

My husband has left his work room to my personal assistant. This is currently under construction. My husband and I, both working a lot from home, now both sit in the living room. That´s why the couches had to go – no space for “living” at the moment.

Having to learn to live with “a stranger” around is a challenge for me, my partner and my family. The fact we live on 90 square meters does not make the thing easier. We have to find our private spots and a place for the “stranger”. Which brings us to the fact we live too small and need more space to ensure our privacy. At the moment my brother, the architect, is drawing on possible solutions. To realise this will take a couple of years, loads of money and tons of energy. Stay tuned!


The list is longer and there are more things waiting but I guess I´ve reached the peak. Our whole life needs to be rearranged. Things just don´t have to be planned and executed, they also have to be processed mentally. And this takes all our energy at the moment. I´ll soon be back again. With nicer stories I hope. Thanks for reading. You still have the chance to ask me questions – click here – I´ll answer them when I´m back.

Im Moment ist mir nach einer Blogg-Pause. Aber es wird nicht für allzu lange sein.

Vorher möchte ich euch noch kurz erzählen was mich im Moment so in Beschlag nimmt.

Letzten Herbst hab ich erwähnt daß ich dabei bin einen elektrischen Rollstuhl zu beantragen. Ich warte noch auf die Genehmigung also wird es noch einige Wochen oder Monate dauern was mir langsam den letzten Nerv raubt.

Weiters brachen wir um einen Elektrorollstuhl ordnungsgemäß zu transportieren ein größeres Auto. Da wir nur ein Auto haben wollen gilt es den Kompromiss zwischen nicht zu groß und nicht zu klein zu finden. Die Details erspar ich euch, im Dschungel der verschiedenen Umbauten geht man schnell unter. Kurz gesagt es wird ein VW Multivan und ein zweiter Rollstuhl, den ich privat kaufe und der ins Auto passt.

Ich habe auch schon davon geschrieben, daß ich mich um persönliche Assistenz bemüht habe. Diese wurde mir für den Arbeitsplatz genehmigt und ich habe auch schon meine – mittlerweile herzallerliebste Babsi – angestellt, die mir während der Arbeitszeit hilft. Jetzt warte ich auf Genehmigung für die Freizeit, sind ja nur die restlichen 143 Wochenstunden.

Mit einem “Fremden” im Haus leben zu lernen ist für mich, meinen Partner und meine Familie eine Herrausforderung. Die Tatsache, daß wir auf 90 m2 leben macht die Sache nicht leichter. Es gilt das Haus so neu zu gestalten, daß wir unseren persönlichen und der “Fremde” seinen eigenen Bereich hat. Nichtdestotrotz leben wir auf zu engem Raum und müssen an/ausbauen um unsere Privatsphäre zu wahren. Mein Bruder, der Architekt, zeichnet schon. Es wird einige Jahre dauern, einen Haufen Geld kosten und mir wird jetzt schon schlecht wenn ich an den Baustress denk. Wer die Geduld aufbringt kann mich ja via Blog begleiten.

Die Liste ist noch länger und vieles habe ich noch gar nicht angefangen, aber ich habe das Gefühl die Spitze erreicht zu haben. Es gilt unser gesamtes Leben neu zu strukturieren. Es reicht nicht zu planen und auszuführen, man muß die Veränderungen auch mental verarbeiten. Und das kostet enorm viel Kraft. Aber bald bin ich wieder voll da und habe wieder Kraft für die schönen Dinge des Lebens. Danke fürs Lesen. Ihr könnt mir hier noch immer Fragen stellen, ich beantworte sie wenn ich wieder da bin.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Catherine permalink
    February 3, 2010 1:23 pm

    Das klingt wirklich anstrengend im Sinne von nervraubend. Und mit zu vielen auf zu engem Raum kenn ich im Moment nur zu gut. Wir waren den ganzen Januar mit drei Erwachsenen und zwei kleinen Kindern in einer Etagenwohnung… Jetzt ist allerdings gerade unser Mitbewohner ein paar Wochen weg und ich bin wieder im Büro, das entlastet. Aber wir werden im nächsten jahr auch umziehen haben wir vorgestern beschlossen. Seitdem geht es mir besser.
    Was ich eigentlich sagen wollte: ich denk an dich und drück die Damen, dass es sich Richtung Frühling alles ein bisschen entzerrt.
    LG Catherine

  2. February 3, 2010 2:01 pm

    Oj, du har mycket att stá i ser jag.
    Bilvalet kommer att bli kanon! jag har kört VW multivan i över 10 ár och kan inte tänka mej en annan bil. Vi har ocksá byggt om den lite sá att vi ska kunna “bo” i den.

    Vad jobbar du med, Sara?
    Fár du själv betala personlig assistent, eller är det en rättighet hos er? Här har lagen gátt igenom att man ska fá en personlig assistent om man behöver men ansökningarna tar sá láng tid, flera ár. Det sociala systemet är överhuvudtaget väldigt dáligt. Särskilt om man jämför med Sverige, átminstone som det var pá “min” tid. Enligt mamma gár det utför med det nu därhemma.

    Hoppas att allt ordnar sej till det bästa.
    Kramar

  3. February 3, 2010 3:16 pm

    Ønsker dere lykke til med alt som må orndes og tilrettelegges for deg og din familie, og håper at alt faller på plass for dere. Tenker på deg, og gleder meg til du er tilbake. God klem fra meg =)

  4. February 3, 2010 6:52 pm

    lycka till med allt! hoppas det ordnar sig snabbare än du tror. kommer sakna dina inlägg.

  5. February 3, 2010 10:46 pm

    Hoppas att allt ordnar sig. Jag har inte läst på så mycket om din sjukdom men den verkar vara jobbig eftersom du blir så beroende av andra människor. Jag antar att det inte är något som kommer att bli bättre med åren.
    Håller utkik efter dina inlägg och hoppas du kommer igång snart igen.

    Kram Mia

  6. February 3, 2010 10:47 pm

    Stora förändringar. Under tiden kommer du att vara saknad på bloggen och väldigt välkommen tillbaka när du orkar. Lycka till med alla stora förändringar och hoppas att du får din stol snart! Kram

  7. February 3, 2010 11:25 pm

    Welcome back! I will miss you during your time off!

    Love Kaja

  8. February 4, 2010 12:17 pm

    Dear,
    I fully understand your need to get away and believe you need to keep all of your efforts to get yourself back to your comfort zone. It is more important then anything right now although I will sure miss your posts.
    I wish you good break and hope you will be back soon with renewed energies!

    I will keep thinking of you, you know, and I preserve my right to check on you in emails :) hope that’s okay.

    Hugs,
    Yours,
    ~Galit

  9. February 5, 2010 9:18 am

    Önskar att allt ordnar sig!

  10. Sister N permalink
    February 5, 2010 10:34 am

    I wish You the strenght you need to take you through this intense time in your life. You´re in my thaughts every day…

  11. February 5, 2010 7:15 pm

    Hoppas att du har det bra! Saknar dej redan:)

Leave a Reply

