Skip to content

Discrimination

May 11, 2010

I´m working on a new issue: Austrian authorities believe that my husband has to do his part concerning taking care of me and my needs.

I said “Yes concerning the child and the household, 50% like normal. But concerning me and my disability??” The answer was “Yes of course. In good times and in bad times, that´s the law. He has commited obligation to support.” “And what about my obligation towards him? That I can´t fulfill because of my disabilities?” They had no answer to that.

Fact is marriage is a commitment. Fact is marriage laws are 100 of years old. Fact is there are human rights. Fact is that Austria (and many other countries) are not following these rights. Fact is a disabled human being should have the same rights to live in a marriage and having a familiy like a not-disabled human being. Fact is deploying marriage law in this case and expecting my husband to wash my hair is discrimination. It would mean I can only marry with a person who is willing to take care of me. I (and in further consequence my husband) have not the right of free choice. Fact is that is discrimination.

Fact is I will not let Austrian authorities get through with this. Fact is that will not be easy and take years. So I will brush me hair, get some make-up and nice clothes. Become the best looking female wheelchair driver in this country, get into TV and fight for my rights.

Mia challenged me to show the 10th picture of my album. It shows me and Keksi.

Ich arbeite an einer neuen Sache: die österreichischen Behörden sind nämlich der Auffassung, daß mein Mann die Pflicht hat mir im Bezug auf meine Behinderung zu helfen.

Ich habe geantwortet: “Ja im Bezug auf das Kind und den Haushalt, 50% ganz normal. Aber im Bezug auf meine Behinderung?” “Ja natürlich. In guten wie in schlechten Zeiten, das ist todernst. Er hat ihnen gegenüber Beistellpflicht (glaub ich nannten sie es).” “Und was ist mit meinen Pflichten ihm gegenüber? Die ich aufgrund meiner Behinderung nicht erfüllen kann?” Darauf hatten sie keine Antwort.

Fakt ist, daß die Ehe ein Versprechen ist. Fakt ist, daß das Ehegesetz uralt ist. Fakt ist, daß es Menschenrechte gibt. Fakt ist, daß Österreich (so wie andere Länder auch) sich davor drückt sich daran zu halten. Fakt ist, daß behinderte Menschen dasselbe Recht haben sollten Ehe und Familie zu leben wie nicht-behinderte auch. Fakt ist, daß es Diskriminierung ist in diesem Fall das Ehegesetz anzuwenden und von meinem Mann zu erwarten mir die Haare zu waschen. Es würde bedeuten, daß ich nur mit einer Person verheiratet sein kann die bereit ist mich zu pflegen. Somit habe ich (und in weiterer Folge mein Ehemann) keine freie Wahl. Fakt ist, das ist Diskriminierung.

Fakt ist, daß ich die österreichischen Behörden damit nicht durchkommen lassen werde. Fakt ist auch, daß das nicht einfach werden wird und Jahre dauern wird. Also wird es langsam Zeit mir die Haare zu kämmen und mich rauszuputzen, die hübscheste Rollstuhlfahrerin des Landes zu werden, mich ins Fernsehen zu setzten und für meine Rechte zu kämpfen.


10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2010 12:16 pm

    Lycka till i din kamp!

  2. May 11, 2010 1:34 pm

    Bra Sara!! Man ska ALDRIG ge sej, (särskilt inte om man vet att man har rätt)
    Jag kämpar ocksá med de spanska myndigheterna. Inte av samma anledning men det spelar ingen roll. Har man rätt sá har man.
    Önskar dej lycka till och kämpa pá, du kommer att vinna tillslut!!!

  3. May 11, 2010 1:51 pm

    You go girl! Precis det där argumentet är dessutom klockrent: jaha, och vad är det då du BORDE serva din man med, som du inte kan på grund av din sjukdom?! Ge dig inte !

  4. May 11, 2010 2:16 pm

    Stå på!! Synes du er tøff!!

  5. Sister N permalink
    May 11, 2010 3:11 pm

    Jag önskar dig all den styrka du behöver för detta Sara. Lycka till, jag tror på dig!!!

  6. May 11, 2010 7:32 pm

    Upprörande! Stå på dig Sara!

  7. May 11, 2010 8:17 pm

    Det här är ju inte klokt! Styrkekramar till dig och familjen för att ni ska orka kämpa!

  8. May 11, 2010 8:33 pm

    Jag är på din sida och jag tror på din metod. Säg till om du behöver en pr-konsult i din kamp. ;) PS. Bilden på er är väldigt fin.

  9. May 12, 2010 12:08 am

    Klart att du vinner!! Och du kommer lätt att vara snyggare i smink och flotta kläder än hela Österrike tillsammans! Jag hejar på dig från Tyskland. :)

  10. Wiebke permalink
    May 15, 2010 10:43 am

    Hallo Sara,

    laß dich bitte von all diesen Ungerechtigkeiten, Ungereimtheiten und Unverschämtheiten nicht entmutigen oder gar unterkriegen. Das Blöde ist (leider) immer und überall.

    LG
    Wiebke

Leave a Reply

