Skip to content

Please don´t think

June 13, 2010

When I worked as a manager I sometimes used to tell my employees “Please don´t think! Just do what I tell you!”

There are some human beings on this planet who rather shouldn´t think too much. Like my new personal assistant S who should have been at work at 12 today. 11.59 I get an SMS saying she´d been sick this morning and is still not feeling well.

My answer was “It would have been nice if you could have told me a bit earlier. It can´t be you decided 11.59 not to come. But hope you get well soon”

The answer back was “Thanks. I thought I might get better and didn´t want to cancel too early”

Yes, that was the mistake. She thought.

Als ich noch als Manager arbeitete machte ich die Erfahrung, daß man manche Mitarbeiter lieber nicht denken läßt. “Bitte denke nicht, mach einfach das was ich dir sage.”

Es gibt halt diese Sorte Mensch, wie meine neue persönliche Assistentin S. Sie sollte heute um 12h arbeiten kommen. Um 11:59 bekam ich eine SMS von ihr “Ich habe mich heute früh übergeben und es geht mir noch immer nicht gut. Ich kann heute leider nicht kommen”

Ich antwortete “Hätte mich gefreut wenn du mir das früher mitgeteilt hättest. Kann ja wohl nicht sein das der Entschluß um 11:59 fällt. Gute Besserung.”

Sie schrieb dann noch “Danke. Ich habe mir gedacht ich warte ab ob es mir besser geht. Wollte nicht zu früh absagen”

Tja das war der Fehler. Sie hat gedacht.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2010 5:08 am

    Maybe the new personal assistant won’t last very long…

    • Sara permalink*
      June 16, 2010 8:14 am

      Oh yes but it´s not so easy to get people for working weekends appearantly…. She´s a nice little girl living in her own reality. We´ll see.

  2. June 16, 2010 9:13 pm

    jag blev helt matt när jag läste detta. fy. bara att ta emot hjälp i form av en assistent kan vara jobbigt i sig och då är det extra viktigt att man kan ha förtroende för och lita på den personen som ska vara ens förlängda arm/ben/whatever. men du verkar inte ge dig, det är bra!

Leave a Reply

